Dad’s Simple Chicken Marinara

Yep, that’s my dad! Could you tell that it’s thanks to him that I learned how to ham it up in front of a camera? He showed me how to start making my own movies sometime around middle school. He’s been making his own movies and taking selfies before “selfies” existed. He’s pretty creative and I’m grateful some of those genes got passed down to me! He’s also someone who taught me to make meals in one pot, instead of making the kitchen a disaster zone!

Dad makes this meal a lot. It’s so simple and great to leave cooking on the stove (or in a crockpot) for a few hours. The meat falls off the bone! Delicious.

Also, for the record, in the beginning I said, “He’s the one responsible for half of my musical genes“… not genius! Someone thought I said that… just wanted to clarify that I wasn’t having a diva moment šŸ™‚

As for how much chicken to cook, 1-2 pieces per person. Family of 4? Make 8! OR – make 10 and have some extra for leftovers! Ā This is great for leftovers. You’re already making it, so why not just add a few pieces to make leftovers?

You need:

Your choice of chicken legs/thighs

1 cup chicken broth

2 tbls olive oil

1 tspĀ of salt and pepper

1 yellow onion

28 oz. can crushed tomato with Italian seasoning

1 tsp garlic powder (optional)

Step 1: DiceĀ your onions. Use a sharp, straight edgeĀ knife! If you use a serrated knife or dull straight edge knife, it will not cut through the membranes cleanly and will make you cry!

Step 2: Cut off excess fat and skin on the chicken. Use a paper towel to pat the chicken dry. Rub the chicken with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder and rub it in. At this point, you can flavor your chicken with whichever seasoning you love. We do garlic because we’re Italian and we like the whole, red sauce with garlic and Italian seasonings thing. šŸ™‚ You can, of course, use real garlic instead of powder! Even better!

Step 3: Put a splash of oil in a pot and sautĆ© your onions for 3 minutes. Brown the skin on the thighsĀ by placing skin side down for 1-2 minutes.Ā Do the same with the legs, rotating to get all sides of the skin brown. While cooking the chicken, cover so the oil doesn’t splatter on your walls, or more importantly, on YOU!

Step 4: Add the crushed tomatoes to the chicken. Add some chicken broth. If you like it thinner, add more broth. If you like your sauce thicker, add less. My great grandma always used a liquid to make sure every little bit of the sauce was usedĀ fromĀ the can, which is where my grandma and my dadĀ picked up that habit. (Check 3:55 if you’re not sure what I’m trying to say, haha)

Step 5: Stir everything together. Cover with the lid. Lower the temperature to simmer. Cook at least 45 minutes. But, it can stay simmering on the stove or in a crockpot for hours. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes! Every once in a while, stir it! If you want, add a vegetable like celery, kale, spinach or squash! ServeĀ on top of pasta or rice! Mmmm, I’m hungry.

IMG_8504

Like dad’s flash of an apron at the end? I bought that for him when I was in Italy, in case you couldn’t tell, it was “David”. šŸ˜‰ The apron he is actually wearing is pretty sweet though, isn’t it? My cousin got it for me for Christmas, in my Chef Stef colors! Black, pink and white!

If you enjoyed this video, you’ll have to check out my dad’s dad, my grandfather in his video! He’s the ultimate ham.

Until next time…

Keep it classy!

Chef Stef

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Dad’s Simple Chicken Marinara

  1. Thank you for following my blog. ‘Simple Chicken Marinara’ looks so delicious! Is it possible to cook with a pressure cooker instead of simmering it 45minutes?

    • Thanks! Not sure, I’ve never used one. I think the reason it tastes so delicious is because after cooking for a long period of time on low heat, the meat is so tender and falls off the bone! It’s also really delicious in a crock pot. If you try it in a pressure cooker, let me know how it comes out!!

  2. Pingback: chicken marinara bento | No bento, No life

Leave a Reply

