Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Sweet Potatoes!

Sounds weird, I know.  But watch the video and then we’ll talk.  😉

So the backstory for this recipe starts right before Thanksgiving.  My mom loves making her roast chicken, with roasted sweet potatoes on the side. I was on a bit of a brussel sprout kick and was making it for vegetables almost every night! While I’m staring at these green and orange things on my plate, I thought, hmm, I wonder if these would taste good together. Lo and behold, they do!! They have the same texture and the sweet totally meshes with the salty and it is DELICIOUS!  Then, the very next day, without my telling her, my best friend sends me a recipe for roasted brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes!  It’s like she had a momentary hit of ESP.  I didn’t like some of the spices they used in that recipe though, so I decided to make up my own recipe with thyme!

To serve 4 people, you’ll need:

2 sweet potatoes

12 oz. brussel sprouts

3 tbl olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp of pepper

1 tsp thyme

1 tbl crushed garlic

1. Set oven to 400º.

2. Scrub the skins of the sweet potatoes in your sink before cutting.  DO NOT remove the skin, it’s the most nutrient dense part of the potato! Cut into small slices and place in a large bowl. Next, wash your brussel sprouts and remove any wilted leaves.  Cut into halves or thirds and place in the same bowl.

IMG_8147

3. Add the remaining ingredients, the garlic, salt, pepper, olive oil and thyme! Mix together.

4. Place in a roasting pan to make them deliciously crispy.  If you don’t have one, a baking sheet will work, also! Cook for 30 minutes. In 15 minutes, open your oven and mix them up. When you take them out, if you feel like they are not crispy enough for your taste, either leave them in longer, or put your oven temperature up and throw them back in for 5 minutes!

IMG_8160

That’s it! Very simple and it really is a delicious side dish. Easy to make for a large crowd, too!

IMG_8172

 

Let me know if you make it! Have a WONDERFUL week!

Keep it classy,
Chef Stef

8 thoughts on “Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Sweet Potatoes!

  1. Steph,

    Just last night I was wondering what I was going to do with all my sweet potatoes before they rotted.  Yay!  Two questions. 1)  Can I freeze the leftovers of these?  2)  What were the spices in the original recipe you didn’t like?

    xo, Marjory

      Marj

    “Mozart’s music was always there. It was part of the inner beauty of the universe, simply waiting to be revealed.”

    Albert Einstein

    • Hi Marjory! I don’t see why you can’t freeze them! Go for it! Yay! Roasted sweet potatoes are awesome, definitely use them before they spoil. I actually don’t remember the spices in the other recipe because it was before Thanksgiving! It was a strange spice that I would never use, so I disregarded. But you can use anything! Try adding onions, cinnamon, parsley, thyme, italian seasonings, etc. (Not at the same time!) 🙂
      Stephanie

    • YES! Don’t you hate seeing a recipe that says, “1/16 of ::insert crazy ingredient you’ve never heard of before::”

      I always try to make up recipes that are simple and still delicious! 🙂 Let me know how it comes out when you make it!!

Leave a Reply

