Peppermint Bark is DELICIOUS!

I have no idea if one would call this “bark” or “toffee”.  It’s almost a mix of both!

My grandma told me about some recipe she had from our cousins in Florida.  She was explaining it to me and I was so uninterested. I furrowed my eyebrows as she’s telling me about matzah and butter with sugar and chocolate. I was, foolishly, completely “eh” about it.

The next day, I went to work to find my boss telling me about this great recipe she makes every Christmas and that I have to go try it, “it’s in the fridge”!  Lo and behold, there’s the exact thing my grandma was just trying to explain to me, except it’s not matzah, it’s saltine crackers! (Give her a break, she’s 82! It’s basically the same thing…)

One small bite and I thought I was in heaven.  I couldn’t believe how simple it was and yet, it tasted so exquisite.  Delicate, yet distinct flavors.  I called grandma, and she relished the opportunity to repeatedly say, “I told you so!”  She’s still such a kid. And what a brat she was about it! (said lovingly, of course. We are very close.)

So we attempted to make it at her house, following the recipe from our cousins in Florida.  (You know Italians, we just have cousins everywhere)  We were able to make it very quickly and it came out not only delicious, but addicting.  Ya gotta try it!

Here’s what you need:

40 saltine crackers

1 cup of butter

1 cup of brown sugar

12 oz of chocolate or white (or both!) chips (You really don’t have to measure out the chocolate, I’ll explain why later)

For a topping, you can choose candy canes to make it nice and peppermintylicious, or you can use walnuts which is just as awesome and easier to find when it is not the holiday season.

Put your oven on 400°.

Step 1: Line your baking sheet with tin foil. Fold the edges up on the sides. Line the sheet with your crackers.  Since I’m already doing it, sometimes I’ll make 2 batches at the same time, one white chocolate and one milk.

Step 2:  In a small saucepan, melt the butter and brown sugar together.  Cook until boiling.  It should turn into a smooth paste.  This is the part that tastes like toffee.  It’s magical.

Step 3:  Pour all over the crackers. Spread around. Place in oven for 6 minutes.

Step 4: Crush the candy canes or chop the nuts.

Step 5: Take tray out of your oven and throw the chocolate chips on top. Cover. This is why you don’t really need to measure them out, just put them on top and make sure everywhere is mostly covered with chips.  After letting them sit for a minute or two, the chips will soften from the heat enough for you to spread them around!

Step 6: Sprinkle the candy canes or the nuts all over the top.  Place in freezer.  Let it get hard, about 30-60 minutes, or a day or two… then peel off the tin foil and break apart!

It’s THAT simple! The entire preparation and cooking process will take you ten minutes.  No joke.  And they will be flying off the plate!  Maybe that’s why my cousins call it “magical toffee”…

IMG_7424

Anyway, to conclude the Grama part of the story… after I released the video, I find out my great aunt is not pleased with me because I did not mention her name.  I was so confused.  I asked grama and she said, well, it’s from the cousins, but I got it from Aunt Mimi… Oops!!  So… thanks Aunt Mimi for sharing the awesome recipe with Grama from our cousins!

AND!  I have some awesome news!  I will be on my first TV segment on “Better Connecticut” on the local WSFW channel 3!  I’ll be making a chicken dish, but the bark will be on the table for the interviewers to try!  I will definitely post the video when it’s available online so all can see from out of state 🙂

Thanks for your continuous support always,

Chef Stef

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

