Snowballs!!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Not only because of the joyous holiday season, but ALSO because of all the delicious food you’ll be eating!! Here’s my first holiday video…

In college, my roommate would make these cookies and they were just to die for.  I got the recipe from her years ago and started making them for Christmas parties! They’re so quick, simple and delicious that I had to share with all of you!

So you’ll need:

2 cups of flour (the recipe calls for cake flour, but I can never find that in my grocery, so I use regular flour…but by all means, if you find it, go for it!)

1 cup of chocolate chips

1/3 cup of sugar (plus extra for coating afterwards)

1 cup of walnuts or pecans… or both!

3/4 cup of butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon water

Set your oven to 300°.

Chop up your nuts with a food chopper.  If you don’t have one, you can buy them already chopped up!  But, if you do have one, it’ll take you 2 minutes to chop them up yourself and … you’ll save money.  Don’t be lazy, just do it!

In a large mixing bowl, add your water, sugar, vanilla and butter.  Make sure the butter is softened!  It’ll make your life easier. Cream the ingredients together.  Mix in the flour, one cup at a time.

The mixture will be crumbly, and you’re probably thinking, “Great now what do I do with this?!”  Surprisingly enough, if you clump some together in your hands, it sticks and will form a ball.  Make them nice and round.  You may have to maneuver it for a minute to figure out the best way to do it.  Next, gently press the chopped nuts into the cookie.  (Do you have any idea how difficult it was for me to think of other words besides “balls” and “nuts”?  I was trying to avoid any nasty comments from the crazies that like to leave rude comments on youtube videos!!)

Place the balls on an ungreased cookie sheet. Put the tray in the oven and cook for a half hour.

Take out, roll in sugar and place on a serving tray!  Voila!

Personally, I think they taste better cold.. or even the next day!  Roll them in different sugars to make your balls festive (see what I mean?!) or roll in plain white sugar to look like snowballs!

Image

With the size I made them, I got 24 cookies. You can easily double the recipe if you need more!!

I hope you try the recipe… you’ll LOVE them!  It’s hard not to keep popping them in your mouth…

Have a FABULOUS week!

Keep it classy,

Chef Stef

Leave a Reply

