What is “Nora Chicken”?

Strange name, no?  Watch the video and then you’ll understand!

Doesn’t it look so delicious?  It really, truly is.  My whole family loves it!

Now for the full story… Nora came to UD for her masters degree when I was a second year grad student.  To make new friends, she invited a few people over to have a dinner party and I was so impressed at how well she cooked for so many people!  I thought she was so cool.  I remember thinking it’s sad more people our age don’t have the courage or willingness to want to cook for people and have “old fashioned” dinner parties.  Most college kids would order a few pizzas and call it a day.  I’m trying to reverse this mentality, and as someone said to me today, “hey, if you can’t fix your generation, you can at least try to fix the next one!” I like it.

Nora and I became fast friends.  We realized we had so many things in common, even life events and experiences…the most uncanny similarities.  She’s such a positive person and always has a smile on her face.  I’m sad we live so far from each other now, but she’s the kind of friend you just pick up where you left off, like you spoke only the day before.

When Nora showed me how to make this a few years ago, I was SO hesitant after hearing there was curry in the sauce.  I am not a spicy food kind of person.  She convinced me to try it because she insisted it wasn’t the kind of spicy I was thinking.  She was right!  It was such a new, exciting taste for my palate, that I fell in love.  Now, if I’m making chicken quickly, I’ll throw in some curry to “spice” it up a bit!

Really, there aren’t any “fixed” ingredients for this recipe.  Cut up as much lettuce and tomatoes as you think you’ll need for the amount of people who will be enjoying this feast.  I would stick to 1 chicken breast per person.

I know this will be hard to hear, but listen closely, get angry for a second and then take it in, realizing I’m trying to help you.  Let go of thinking you need exact measurements for cooking.  You don’t.  Use the right side of your brain a little more!

Whoever is not cooking, you better call them to set the table before you start.  This dinner can be on the table in 10 minutes.  It’s veryyyy quick!  You could even cut the tomatoes and lettuce earlier in the day if you would rather not do it if you have company or something.  In that case, all you’d have to do is cook the chicken!

3-4 breasts of chicken (make 1 per person…unless you’re serving a bunch of hungry college kids who have been eating dorm food for 3 months, then I’d definitely make more.)

Olive oil, salt, pepper

Mexican/Yellow rice (read the serving sizes on the side and get as many boxes as would make do for your amount of people. If you’re just a small family, one box is fine)

Tomatoes (8 little ones, or 2 big ones, really just depends on how much you love this fine fruit! Yes, it’s a fruit, go look it up if you don’t believe me.)

Head of lettuce (or 2 heads if you have more than 4 people)

Mayonnaise

Mustard

Curry Powder

First things first.  Check the directions on the box of rice you bought.  Cooking the chicken will be less than 10 minutes so adjust accordingly.  Instant rice only takes 5 minutes, but the not instant kind can take 20 or more, so PAY ATTENTION to the box before you start the chicken and then realize your rice will be done a half hour after your chicken!  Cold chicken.. yuck! This is what I was talking about in my previous post/video, about how timing is everything.  Before you ever start cooking, think and plan in advance.  Something simple like, “The rice will take longer than the chicken”, will save you a TON of overcooked, dry chicken, and no chicken deserves to die for that!! Think ahead. Do it for chickens everywhere.

(Slight Modification: If you love burritos and black beans, then when your rice is almost finished, throw in a can!  It’ll be even better!)

To cook the chicken, cut into small pieces. I only seasoned with salt and pepper because the sauce will do the work for you.  You can add a sprinkle of curry powder if you’d like.  It’s up to your taste buds.  Cook it on low, cut the lettuce and tomatoes.  (The piano piece is a piece by Mozart that I’ve been playing forever.  I’d have to go look up the title, haha.  I really am so bad with names.)

Stir the chicken.

Throw grated cheddar cheese in a bowl.  MONEY SAVING TIP: Buy a block of cheddar cheese and grate it as you need it.  So much cheaper than buying it in the package already grated.

Make the sauce.  I think I was a bit overzealous with this.  Definitely use less mustard than mayo.  Let’s say, a 2 to 1 ratio.  So if you use a 1/4 cup of mayo, use only an 1/8 cup of mustard.  Again, it’s up to you.  Maybe you realllllly love mustard.  Taste test it constantly.  Add curry powder in.  1/2 to 1 teaspoon. Taste test. Do it. Stick your finger in there and taste it. Mix up. Done.

Put everything in separate bowls.  Place on table.  Mix n match what ingredients you’d like.  Enjoy.

Let me know if you try it and love it as much as I do!  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  Yum.

Also, please join my Facebook page!

Enjoy your week…make the best out of it!

Chef Stef

Nora Chicken

Leave a Reply

